Eastern Iowa Regional Housing Authority (EIRHA)

EIRHA was established in 1978 to meet the housing needs of low and moderate income families and elderly, and serves seven counties: Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, Jones and Scott County in Eastern Iowa. The cities of Clinton, Camanche, Davenport and Dubuque are not served by the EIRHA region.

EIRHA has a contract with the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to serve as many families as possible using their calendar year budget for Housing Assistance Payments (HAP) through the Section 8 HCV Program with an ACC of 983 and owns/manages 164 Public Housing Units of family and elderly/disabled housing in the region. EIRHA is a member of the Iowa Chapter of NAHRO.

Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher (HCV)

EIRHA has an annual contributions contract to assist up to 983 households, within its budget authority, with rental assistance in the region. The participating family chooses a decent, safe, and sanitary rental unit in which to reside. If the landlord agrees to lease the unit to the household under the Section 8 HCV Program, and EIRHA approves the rental unit, EIRHA will make monthly rental payments to the landlord to help the household pay their rent each month. Participating households pay a minimum of 30% of their adjusted income for rent and utilities or $50, whichever is greater.

Public Housing Program

EIRHA owns and manages 164 rental units in Dubuque, Jackson, Delaware, and Clinton Counties. These Public Housing units consist of apartments, duplexes, and single family homes to provide housing for low-income families, seniors, and persons with disabilities. Participants in the program pay a minimum of 30% of their adjusted income toward rent and utilities or $50, whichever is greater. Payments are made directly to EIRHA on the first of each month.

Eastern Iowa Regional Housing Corporation (EIRHC)

EIRHC is a subsidiary of EIRHA and was established in 1990 and organized as a not-for-profit under the provisions of Chapter 504A of the Iowa Code and serves seven counties: Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, and Jones Counties in Eastern Iowa. The cities of Clinton, Camanche, Davenport and Dubuque are not served by EIRHC. The purpose of EIRHC is to promote the general social welfare of eligible occupants of rental housing as determined by the  United States Department of Agriculture (USDA),  Iowa Finance Authority (IFA), and Iowa Economic Development Authority (IEDA) regulations, without regard to race, color, religion, creed, familial status or national origin; to acquire, construct, improve, and operate any real or personal property or interest or rights. EIRHC owns and manages 10 elderly and/or disabled USDA rental units: six (1BR) in Grand Mound, Iowa, and four (1 BR) in Worthington, Iowa. Rental assistance is financed by USDA for these units.

Tenant Based Rent Assistance (TBRA)

In March 2014, the EIRHC was awarded an IFA Home Investment Based Rent Assistance (TBRA) grant, and continues to apply for these funds. The grant provides rental and security deposit assistance for affordable, decent, safe and sanitary housing to qualifying families over a two year period. Families qualify by being at or below 60% of the County Median Income guideline.

Eastern Iowa Development Corporation (EIDC)

EIDC is a for-profit entity and a wholly owned subsidiary of EIRHC. The EIDC was formed to serve as the general partner in all Low Income Housing Tax Credits (LIHTC) projects.The Peosta Evergreen Meadows (32 units) and Asbury Meadows (24 units) properties resulted in this formation.

Eastern Iowa Regional Housing Corporation Housing Trust Fund (EIRHC HTF)

In 2014, EIRHC applied to the state of Iowa to be a Housing Trust Fund (HTF) designee. In accordance with Iowa Code Section 16.181, a Housing Trust Fund is held with the Iowa Finance Authority (IFA). The intended use of the funds is for development and preservation of affordable housing for households with low income in the state of Iowa.

East Central Intergovernmental Association Pocket Neighborhood

The ECIA Pocket Neighborhood project aims to provide affordable housing for Eastern Iowa. For more information, visit the ECIA Pocket Neighborhood website.